TOWN OF WESTPORT HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMISSION

Kennedy Administration Building Community Meeting Room 5387 Mary Lake Road Town of Westport, Wisconsin

Minutes – December 1, 2022

Members Present: Pichette, Moore, Werner. Members Absent: Hermanson, Wing, Will. Public Present: Sharla Hanson, Margaret Geary, Michael Ring, Ken Lambrecht, Roberta Baumann

Meeting called to order at 6:07 pm

Public comment on matters not on the agenda: none.

Motion to approve minutes from November 03, 2022, made by Moore, second by Werner, motion approved unanimously.

Discussion on 5360 Westport Road (Hanson's Tavern/Nau-Ti-Gal Property) Application for Town Historical Designation:

Pichette provided a brief update on the project, noting that following last month's request to town staff to inquire on possible access to interior, access was granted to consultant, who was able to review and assess interior conditions. The commission then reviewed the addendum to the draft report that was prepared by Isthmus Architecture, noting these conditions. Pichette and Moore provided a brief update as to report's findings thus far, and noted the upcoming public hearing, scheduled for January 5th, 2023.

<u>**Historic Tree on Westport Road:**</u> Pichette provided brief update, noting pieces are with Town in storage and likely something may happen with pieces in future, although no current plans are solidified.

State Marker Application (update):

Pichette updated HPC; still waiting on the State review process. No further updates at this time.

EWW Site (update):

No further updates at this time

<u>Miscellaneous Matter Not on Agenda</u>: Pichette noted Town's recent successful purchase of 105 acres of valuable land, which extends from Town Hall, to Woodland Drive, to County Highway M, and noted the town has a conservation easement agreement with Groundswell.

Plan Commission: No recommendations.

Motion to adjourn meeting by Werner, second by Moore, by a unanimous vote the meeting adjourned at 6:40 p.m.

The next HPC meeting is on January 5, 2023.

Minutes prepared by Chris Moore